HomeSportPSL to relegate two teams in 2014

PSL to relegate two teams in 2014

THE Premier Soccer League will relegate two teams instead of four at the end of the 2014 season.


Zifa chief executive Jonathan Mashingaidze told Standardsport that this would be necessitated by the formation of a National First Division League, which is expected to start in 2015 instead of four Division One leagues.

“Four teams from the Premier Soccer League will be officially relegated at the end of the season with four teams from Division One being promoted. Early next year we will begin a process of setting up a National First Division League instead of four regions.

The National first Division League, which will be functional in 2015, will comprise 16 teams. We will also look at how we will invite the team to this league,” he said.

Mashingaidze added that the whole idea was to avoid relegating four teams which amounts to 25% of the teams in the top flight league.
“This is part of our efforts to stop relegating 25% of the teams in the top flight league, as this has been killing investment efforts.

The national league will have its own management committee and will also have four delegates in the Zifa assembly, as is the current situation,” he said.

The PSL started relegating four teams in 2011 to accommodate the formation of the Central Division One League, which started in 2010.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading